Ombe Surf icon

Ombe Surf Reviews & Testimonials

5 (302)

Reviews: 302


5
99%
4
1%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%

100% of customers would recommend Ombe Surf

Ombe Surf logo

About Ombe Surf


The OMBE Surf Program has been created by Clayton Nienaber who has spent more than 30 years accumulating a wealth of surfing knowledge. Having been a professional surfer on the world tour, shaper and a high-performance surfing coach for over 15 years, he has coached some of the best surfers in the world including Travis Logie, Ricky Basnett, Jordy Smith and lead national surfing teams.

This program covers everything you need to know to rapidly accelerate your level of surfing. Whether you’re a beginner or a pro, this program will improve your surfing.

Email

hi@ombe.co

Levi Baker

Levi Baker star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"I really wish I had known earlier the whole arm positioning thing, how to be light on your feet and relax. Its been incredible and made a huge difference and to do a couple of turns and to feel that in action has been amazing."

2 years ago

Dave Hateley

Dave Hateley star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"One light bulb moment would be that you have a lot more time and rushing things makes it worse. When I tried to do less on a wave, not push things and work with the power zones of the wave, it made surfing a lot easier than trying to push a turn."

2 years ago

David Mann

David Mann star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"The biggest take away from Clayton was to put your arms up. I tend to bend forwards a lot which is wrong in many ways and it limits your movements. From putting my arms up it makes my body more straight and up right and this changed everything in my surfing for me."

2 years ago

Warren Tsoi

Warren Tsoi star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"The light bulb moment that will have the most impact is just to relax and enjoy my surfing. I tend to get very technical and over think when I am surfing. The first thing that Clayton told me is to just stop paddling like a crazy person and just relax. I can see major changes in my surfing and it just made it so much more enjoyable."

2 years ago

Brian Welsh

Brian Welsh star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"The one light bulb moment that I would like to share is to look where you are going towards and get your knee and loosen up a bit to look where you are going."

2 years ago

Garry Hoover

Garry Hoover star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"The best light bulb moment was to relax, relax your paddle, keep calm, don’t stress at all and just go with it. Also, to find the power of the wave and don’t try and paddle onto the wave use the wave energy and not your own and flow with it instead of fighting it."

2 years ago

Dave Pettit

Dave Pettit star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"The best light bulb moment for me would be the combination of the understanding and learning how to use the power of the wave rather than trying to make power. So using the wave energy instead of your body energy and working with it instead of against it. It takes a lot of hard work to work against it or working for it rather than using it."

2 years ago

Ivan Gueorguiev

Ivan Gueorguiev star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"There are so many things to learn, listen to and practice. A lot of the coaching is very helpful and I will be happy to recommend"

2 years ago

Brandon Wirakesuma

Brandon Wirakesuma star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"My light bulb moment has been too stay very calm on my pop up, take my time, arch my back and look where I am going. That has magically fixed a lot of things, especially when I keep my hands up."

2 years ago

Rebecca Wirakesuma

Rebecca Wirakesuma star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"My light bulb movement I think came from a decision I made to try and stay very positive mentally and see how that affected my surfing and my learning process and its had a big effect. Once you make the decision to take in the coaching and be grateful for it and stop beating yourself up you actually open up space in your body and head, in order to take the c... Read more"

2 years ago

Mateo Garcia

Mateo Garcia star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"There has been so many highlights, but I guess the biggest one is stance and knowing how to stand right and move right, instead of being sideways and squatted and being more in a fight stance. It takes a while to commit to memory after you’ve been doing it wrong for so long, but it has just been such a light bulb moment for me. It feels so good when you get... Read more"

2 years ago

Angus Williams

Angus Williams star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"Working through the program, has been frustrating at times, but I’ve learned so much. The biggest thing that I have found out here is looking down the line and watching where I am going. I have gone backwards, but I have leant new things that is going to help progress my surfing in the long run."

2 years ago

Charles Theivagt

Charles Theivagt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

"I spent the last few months trying to work on my pop up at home every day, and the first day Clayton said show me your pop up, so I showed him and he said no lets do this instead. He showed me the walk up and since then I have not thought twice about my pop up. Just walk up and it’s that simple."

2 years ago

Travis Logie

Travis Logie star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

Pro Surfer

"My coaching experience Clayton made a huge positive impact on my surfing! Clayton has a keen eye for flaws in technique and he corrected a bunch of mistakes I was making and I wasn’t even aware I was doing them. This led to having more fun free surfing, better results, and way fewer injuries"

2 years ago

Ricky Basnett

Ricky Basnett star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

Pro Surfer - SA

"Without Clayton Nienaber as my coach I would not have come close to making it onto the world championship tour (WCT). He has a really unique style of coaching and explained things to me in such simple terms. To this day I still use techniques that I learned from Clay."

2 years ago

James Douglas

James Douglas star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt Verified customer

Intermediate Surfer

"The Amanzi surfing courses have really helped me to progress as my surfing had felt a bit stale over the last few years. Highly recommend to any surfer looking to progress to the next level"

2 years ago

Fiona Gillespie

Fiona Gillespie star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Experiencing a coaching session from Clayton is like turning on the light for your surfing development and progression. You will be stretching your surfing potential by experiencing practical surfing knowledge about wave power, body movements and flow. After a day coaching session with Clayton my surfing understanding has developed dramatically. I can’t wait... Read more"

2 years ago

Jason Olderoy

Jason Olderoy star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Amazing, I learnt in ten minutes of coaching with Clayton the subtleties of weight distribution and body movement gain more speed than I needed speed with nearly no effort, enlightening!"

2 years ago

Anthea Dare

Anthea Dare star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Clayton is amazing at coaching the basics so that intermediate surfers like me can work out what to actually do with your body on a wave. He trains the drills and body positions with you on his purpose built skate/surf ramp so you can spend time on there feeling what it is like on the wave - its perfect when there's no time to get out in the waves or when th... Read more"

2 years ago

Sharif Enous

Sharif Enous star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Great coach has vast knowledge about the technical side of surfing"

3 years ago

한태규

한태규 star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Amazing Surf coaching is HERE�"

4 years ago

Mick Dundee

Mick Dundee star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"I had such great day hanging out with Clay I would highly recommend any surfer looking to get past that progression plateau to tap into Claytons world of knowledge and experience He is able to simplify what most tend to over complicate To say the penny has dropped would be an understatement And he also shapes sick boards"

5 years ago

Tom De Spiegelaere

Tom De Spiegelaere star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Nobody knows the sport better than Maven Surf imho! 5 stars well deserved."

6 years ago

Google review

Gabriel S

Gabriel S star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Working with the Team at Maven has been incredibly useful in identifying and correcting common mistakes. Their video analysis and technique insights are really helpful if you want to improve your surfing!"

6 years ago

Google review

Joshua Wheeldon

Joshua Wheeldon star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt star-alt

"Clayton is a great coach. After my first lesson I was able to identify my faults and instantly learnt how to fix them using the muscle memory techniques and video reviews. These guys are great."

6 years ago

Google review